

NDIAN BOOK DEPOT (MAP HOUSE)[®]

MAPS| CHARTS| CHILDREN BOOKS| ATLASES| GLOBES

The Political Map of India

An Overview of India's Administrative Divisions

www.ibdmaphouse.com



Indian Book Depot (Map House)

2937, Bahadurgarh Road, Near Sadar Bazar, Delhi-110006 (INDIA)

Introduction to India's Political Map



India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 Union territories.

Each state and Union territory has its own government, administrative divisions, and legislative setup.

The political map of India reflects the country's administrative boundaries and regions.

States and Union Territories

India has 28 states and 8 Union territories.

- States have their own governments with elected representatives.
- Union territories are governed directly by the Central Government, with some having partial statehood.



Majo India

India can be broadly divided into six major regions: Northern, Southern, Eastern, Western, Central, and Northeastern regions. Each region has distinct cultural, linguistic, and political characteristics.

Major Regions of

Political Significance

- The political map is crucial for understanding electoral constituencies and political boundaries.
- It plays a significant role during elections, as constituencies are demarcated based on it.
- Administrative planning and resource allocation are also based on these boundaries.

India's political map showcases the diverse states, regions, and territories within the country.



Recent Changes and Developments

Jammu & Kashmir was reorganized into two Union territories in 2019: Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

Understanding recent changes helps in grasping the current political landscape of India.

Conclusion

The political map of India is dynamic and reflects the country's complex administrative structure

